Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Books of Realistic Fiction

img_4188-3Top Tuesday was created by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is top ten favorite books of any genre. I chose realistic fiction as i find it’s the genre i reach for the most.I define Realistic fiction as kind of the adult version of contemporary? I don’t know if that’s the correct defintion, but that’s how i define it so let’s get into this. ( This is like two days late but yolo)

1.I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

This wouldn’t be a favorites post without me mentioning my all time author. I am The Messenger is so diffirent, yet just as amazing as  The Book Thief.It’s a book filled with amazing characters and rich themes and I highly recommend it

2.The Storyteller  by Jodi Picoult.

This is technically considered as a historical fiction, but i just had to include it. Jodi picoult is one of my favorite authors and this my favorite book by her. It’s such an interesting perspective and is done such a sensitive way. As with any of her books, the writing is amazing as is the characters and there’s the classic Picoult twist.

3. My Grandmother Asked me To Tell you She’s Sorry by Frederick Backman

This is a recent favourite and it’s just so beautiful and endearing. It took me a while to really get into it, but once I did I loved it so much. It’s told from the perspective of a seven year old and just there’s so many great life lessons, and as a great bonus there’s tons of Harry Potter references.

4.The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton

Again kind of Historical fiction, but like not really so I’m going to include it. This book has one of my favourite storytelling techniques which is a past and present timeline, and The Secret Keeper did such a good job with it,and it was just so interesting.Plus the plot twist at the end was jaw dropping

5.The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom

While all of Mitch Albom’s books are great I think this is my favourite one. It’s just such an interesting read, and  it’s really unique. There’s a kind of Shadow of The Wind feel( idk that just might be me) and it’s just so whimsical and magical.I just really loved it.

6. Still Alice by Lisa Genova

This was one of my favourites books of 2015, and I just cannot rave enough about this week. It’s so heartbreaking, and is told in such a way that makes you really put yourself in the character’s shoes and wonder what it would be to go through what they were going through. The characterization was amazing, and the author did an amazing job of handling the subject of Alzheimers. I really want to read her other books one day

7.A Tree Grows In Brooklyn by Betty Smith

This is one of those classics that can be read anyone, and it’s one that I think everyone should read. It’s a really simple book, but it’s just beautiful it’s in simplicity.Even if you’re not a fan of classics, you should still read it. It reads like a realistic fiction novel today, and it’s just so rich

8. And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseni

I’ve read two of Khaled’s books, and both were amazing, but this one was just a little better than The Kite Runner. Khaled Hosseini just has  a way with words,and he’s just able to craft such an amazing story.He tells devastating tales and yet there’s something so beautiful about them. He’s one of the most talented writers I’ve encountered.

 Okay so I couldn’t quite come up with 10, but eight is just as good right?

What are your favourite realistic fiction books?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

