Half by Sally Green Book Review

 

img_4188

 

 

 

half_bad_book_cover-2

Goodreads Summary:
Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

My Rating:4/5 stars

My thoughts:

Plot:

Half Bad is set in in a world where there are two types of witches:Black And White. As you may guess, the Black witches are evil and the White witches good. But Nathan, the main character is a half code, half black half white, and his father is one of the worst  black witch ever.

Despite the fact that I gave this book a four stars, I didn’t really enjoy the plot at all.I liked everything that happened in the book, but I didn’t like the whole point of the book. I just found it was kind  of boring and  Nathan’s end goal didn’t really interest me. But everything that led to his goal was enjoyable. I liked his interactions with his family, I liked his quest to find his father. To me I felt like this book could have had a different direction while still having the same plot if that makes sense. One of the things that I didn’t really like about the plot was the fact that it was kind of  too slow. As someone who likes slow books,Half Bad dragged on a lot. It wasn’t even a long book, but just looking back it’s hard to even remember what  actually happened. I think the author elaborated a little too much on some things,  while not focusing long enough on others.

Characters:

Now the characters in this book are probably my favorite thing about this book , though there isn’t that many characters. I really liked Nathan’s character and his struggle between  the two sides of himself, but I did find he was sometimes blinded by what he wanted and didn’t really think about the situation in front of him. He was too caught up with finding his father, and being a half code that it didn’t really leave room for any other part of his personality.   As mentioned before I really liked Nathan’s family, especially Arran who was just an absolute sweetheart and the best brother that Nathan could possibly have.

The last character who I really enjoyed was Daniel, though we didn’t get a lot of him, I did really enjoy what we did see.I liked the friendship between him and Nathan, and the fact that he was a major book nerd was a bonus. Plus you can totally tell that he has a major crush on Nathan, so hopefully that may blossom into  something more later on?

Writing:

The writing was really easy to get into, and really made the book fly by. The only issue I had was the fact that it was in second person sometimes, which I found to be really weird and not needed? It was like only for twenty pages, but I don’t even know why it was there for those twenty pages.

 

Leave a Reply

