If you like this…Try this#1

screen-shot-2016-09-27-at-8-57-23-pm

 

This post is one of the first of this idea I have for my wordpress blog. Basically it’s book recommendations based on on people’s favourite books,tv shows,movie and music.

For this one I asked people on Tumblr for their favourite movies,  and I’ll try my best to recommend some books based on these movies. Some of these movies I haven’t watched but I will try  my best to find a book based on the vibe I get from the description/trailer.  So let’s get into this.

1.Good Will Hunting. Starring:Matt Damon and Ben Affleck

The gist of it: A story of love and friendship about a a mathematical genius  struggling with the limits he has to overcome.

I recommend: The Humans by Matt Haig

This is a book about an alien who overtakes the body of a professor who has broken a mathematical formula that must be destroyed. This is also a story of friendship and love, while the alien struggles with human concepts.

2. A Little Princess.Starring:Liesel Matthews and Liam Cunningham

The Gist of It:A story about finding hope in even the darkest  of times,and finding magic in even the coldest of places

I recommend:The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

While this is pretty different from A Little Princess, it does remind  me of it which is why I chose it. It has a sort of mysterious ominous vibe, along with the fact that during the book one of the characters meets the author  of A Little Princess.It’s a story about family, and the secrets they keep from each other.

3.Alice In Wonderland.Starring:Johnny Depp and Mia Wasikowska 

The Gist Of it: A strange and kooky movie about a young girl destined to kill the Red Queen.

I recommend:The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer By Michelle Hodkins

Now I know that this wouldn’t be the obvious choice, but they’re are some similarities.  The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is very disorienting and you’re unsure of what is real and what is in the narrator’s head, which is the way it is in Alice In Wonderland. Mara Dyer tells the story of a girl struggling between reality and fantasy, as she tries to recover from a traumatic accident.

4.Moulin Rouge. Starring Ewan McGregor  and Nicole Kidman.

The Gist of it:A celebration of love and creative inspiration takes place in the infamous, gaudy and glamorous Parisian nightclub, at the cusp of the 20th century. A young poet , who is plunged into the heady world of Moulin Rouge, begins a passionate affair with the club’s most notorious and beautiful star 

I recommend:Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen

This is a book set in the 30s telling the story of a travelling circus and a trapeze artist who falls in love. This is a very glamorous book along with an undertone of darkness.Water For Elephants is told from the perspective of a senile old man and is bound to make you cry.

 

So there you have it, my first if you like this… try this. Let me know what you thought of it and if there’s any aspect of it that could be modified! Also if you could leave some of your favourite movies/books/tv shows in the comments, I can used them for my next post!

7 thoughts on “If you like this…Try this#1

  1. I love this idea! Also, some of my favorite shows are Bates Motel and Criminal Minds, some of my favorite movies are Sucker Punch, both Now You See Me movies, The Help, From Up On Poppy Hill, and Bride and Prejudice, and some of my favorite books are The Bronze Horseman, The Night Circus, anything by Sarah Addison Allen, The Lies of Locke Lamora…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

