September Wrap-Up

img_4188-5

screen-shot-2016-09-30-at-10-08-09-pmscreen-shot-2016-09-30-at-10-08-16-pm

Since Im new to the whole WordPress blog thingy, I’m not exactly sure how I’m going to go about doing this. I’m going to try doing it a certain way and we’ll see if it works.I read a total of 11 books and reviewed 4 of these so let’s get into this.

1.The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters

Goodreads

My Rating:4/5 stars.

One Thing I  Liked About It: The romance between two women in the midst of the the early 20s

One Thing I Disliked About it: The lack of direction, and the open ending that kind of made me wonder what the whole point of the book was.

2.The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley

Goodreads

My rating:5/5 stars

One Thing I Liked About it: The rawness  of the story, and how the narrator dealt with his grief

One Thing I Disliked About it: The  love interest was underdeveloped, and didn’t have much depth to him.

3.Lies You Wanted To Hear by James Whitfield Thomson

Goodreads

My Rating:4/5 Stars

One Thing I liked About it: The topic of parents fighting over their children and how out of control it can get.

One Thing I disliked About It: The fact that most of the characters were extremely misguided

4. Paul Dans le Nord by Paul Rabagliati

Goodreads

My Rating:4/5 Stars

One Thing I liked About it:The fact that it was set close to where I live and mentioned places I knew

One Thing I disliked About it: There was really no plot, and no drive to it. It was just about teenage angst.

5.More Happy Than Not By Adam Silvera

Goodreads

My Review

My Rating:5/5 Stars

One Thing I liked About it:The way the story was constructed, and the carefully built plot twist that blew me away.

One Thing I disliked about it:I can’t really think of anything, but the sadness that this book caused me wasn’t very fun.

6.Hominids by Robert J Sawyer.

Goodreads

My Rating:4/5 Stars

One Thing I Liked About it:The idea of two parallel worlds, one of humans and one of neanderthal

One Thing I Disliked About it:The initial confusion especially when reading about the neanderthals.

7. Smoke by Ellen Hopkins

Goodreads

Rating:4/5 stars

What I Liked About It:The sense of closure that Patty finally got after so much suffering.

What I Disliked:The way the verse was worded in certain parts, sometimes I found it flowed quite awkwardly and just read like prose in poem format.

8.Half Bad by Sally Green.

Goodreads

Review

Rating:4/5 Stars

What I Liked About It: The characters.

What I Disliked About it:The Plot and the direction in which the story is going.

9. The Orchid House by Lucinda Riley

Goodreads

Review

My Rating:4/5 Stars

What I Liked About It:The plot and the backdrop of the Second World War.

What I Disliked About it:The Underdevelopment of one of the storylines

10.A Room Swept White by Sophie Hannah

Goodreads

What i Liked About It:The discussion of women accused of cot-deaths.

What I Disliked About it: The resolution of the problem, and the revealing of the mystery. To me it didn’t make much sense.

11. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

My Rating:5/5 stars

Goodreads

Review

What I Liked About It:How enrapturing it was, and the big reveal at the end.

What I disliked about it: It was kind of hard to imagine anyone capable of doing what was done in the book

So there you have it, my September Wrap-up.

Let me know what you thought of my post, if you read any books  on this wrap-up, or what you read this month. Feel free to link your own wrap-up in the comments.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up

  1. Fantastic wrap-up! It seems like you had a great reading month. I really need to read More Happy Than Not because I keep hearing good things about it. I’d link you to my wrap up but I’ve yet to finish it lol. Hope you have as good a reading month in October as you had this month! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

