Hannah Recommends:Books About Mental Illness

img_4188-2

So in honour of Mental Illness Awareness Week, here are a few of my favourite books that have characters with a variety of different mental illnesses.

  1. We Are The Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson.

Goodreads

We Are The Ants tells the story of Henry who  has been abducted by aliens since the age of 13, and now with the knowledge that the world is going to end, he is giving the chance to push a red button that will prevent it. Now Henry must figure out if he thinks the world is worth saving, as he deals with the suicide of his boyfriend.Now I know this concept may sound very odd, but I personally loved this book. This is a very important and tough read, and I highly recommend it.

2. Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Goodreads

Winter girls is basically the story of a Lia who is suffering from anorexia,and her struggles as she tries to recover. It’s a very tough read, and if things like eating disorders trigger you I wouldn’t recommend that you read it, but if you can it’s a very important and beautiful read. Laurier Halse Anderson is an amazing writer, and I guarantee you that this book will make you fill all sorts of different emotions.

3.Solitaire by Alice Oseman

Goodreads

I don’t really know how to describe this book but basically it’s about this girl named Tori, and her life? I know it’s a really bad description but yeah. Tori suffers from depression,and her brother suffers from OCD, and it’s just a really relatable read about school and life. Alice Oseman is a really talented author, and I highly recommend both of her books

4. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Goodreads

This is one of my favourite classics, and I think it becomes a lot more powerful when  you realize that this  is a semi-autobiographal  book, and the fact that Sylvia Plath killed herself. It’s very interesting, and an amazing read.Though the content is tough, the actual writing is very easy to read, and doesn’t read as a normal classic

5.I Know This Much Is True By Wally Lamb

Goodreads

This is about  Dominick whose brother suffers from paranoid schizophrenia. This story alternates between Dominicks past,the present, and the uncovering of Dominick’s Grandfather’s story. This story is like 900 pages, and I know a lot of people don’t like drawn out stories but I love them, so I love this book. It’s so intricate, and there are so many different storylines.It’s just a really great book, and if long books are your thing then I highly recommend it.

What are some of your favourite books about mental illness?

 

2 thoughts on “Hannah Recommends:Books About Mental Illness

Leave a Reply

