Top Ten Tuesday:Top Ten Books I’ve Read because of Tumblr

img_4188-3

I’m the type of person who doesn’t read a book unless it’s been recommended to me,while I do sometimes go off on a limb, for the most part I like to know that somewhere I’ve seen that someone has liked a book I wanted to read. So for the past 4 years Tumblr has been one of my sources of recommendations so without further ado here are the top ten books I’ve read because of Tumblr.

1.The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

This is one of those books that everyone talks about on Tumblr, and rightfully so.I’m really glad that I did pick up, because it’s one of my favourite series. It’s very odd and bizarre, and if I hadn’t know about it I doubt I would have picked up, but I did and I love it.

2.Solitaire by Alice Oseman

This one wasn’t really recommended to me by Tumblr as a whole, but there was this one user who raved about I think their url was negative-pessimist. Anyway, I read it and loved it so much. While Solitaire is well known, I don’t think it gets the attention it deserves. Alice Oseman is an amazing author, and I can’t wait for all the books she publishes in the future.

3.The Lunar Chronicles.

Another favourite series of mine. It’s a great quartet with an amazing set of characters.I’m so glad that I read this series.

4.Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.

I won this book in a Tumblr giveaway two years ago, and it’s probably one of my favourite contemporaries. Morgan matson is  incredible at creating chemistry  between characters, while also crafting an amazing story.

5.Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover.

Everyone on tumblr sings the praise of Colleen Hoover, and though I’ve only read this book I can see why. She very skillfully created the characters, and added a lot of depth and meaning to them. I really look forward to reading her other books.

6.The Infernal Devices and The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.

I think I read City of Bones before I started Tumblr, but I never finished the series until like two years later. Partially because of Tumblr, partially out of curiosity. It’s not the best series ever but  they’re both pretty addicting. Plus I love the show.

7.The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

LadyBookMad on tumblr raved about this book, and  I decided to check it out, and I read it in about two sittings. It’s a really underrated heartbreaking yet uplifting contemporary. More people definitely should read it.

8.Fire in The Stars by Isabelle Rogue.

An E-arc was provided to me by the author. I believe it’s self-published, and  really good. It’s basically about this island where criminals go as a punishment and murder ensues. It’s 400 pages of chaos and heartbreaking and it’s great

9.All The Rage by Courtney Summers

I’ve only read two of Summers books, but I loved both of them. She’s a great writer, and plus she’s canadian. This book deals with really important subjects such as rape culture and feminism and I’d definitely recommend it if you liked Speak.

10.Aristotle and Dante Discovers the Secrets by Benjamin Alire Saenz.

This is one of my favourite books. I love the characters of Ari and Dante, and am so excited for the sequel and the new book by Saenz that’s coming out in 2017.

What are some of the books that you’ve read because of someone?

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday:Top Ten Books I’ve Read because of Tumblr

Leave a Reply

