Jess,Chunk and The Road Trip To Infinity By Kristen Elizabeth Clark Book Review

img_4188

27414371

Goodreads Summary:

The last time Jess saw her father, she was a boy. Now she’s a high school graduate, soon to be on her way to art school. But first she has some unfinished business with her dad. So she’s driving halfway across the country to his wedding. He happens to be marrying her mom’s ex-best friend. It’s not like Jess wasn’t invited; she was. She just never told anyone she was coming. Surprise!

Luckily, Jess isn’t making this trip alone. Her best friend, Christophe-nicknamed Chunk-is joining her.

Along the way, Jess and Chunk learn a few things about themselves-and each other-which call their feelings about their relationship into question.

Disclaimer: I received a review copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating:4/5 stars

My Thoughts:

Plot:

Jess Chunk and the  Road Trip to Infinity  is your classic road trip novel complete with shitty junk food,questionable motels and friendly people.While I was expecting it to be a cute fluffy contemporary, I was surprised. While this book has those classic elements, there’s a lot more to it.  Jess is a trans girl who is transitioning,and her father basically denies the fact that she’s trans. This road trip is a way to give her Dad one more chance, and to also see her Father’s wedding. This book deals a lot with Jess’ struggles and anxieties as she’s forced to face many truths.

This book does an A+ job with  diversity, and it’s the first book I’ve seen where a character is pansexual, so that was an added bonus.

One of my major problems with this book was it was too short. It was like 250 pages and I was able to finish it in one sitting, but I think there could’ve been more expansion on some issues. The ending was kind of abrupt, and while I did like it, I think it could’ve ended better. Another 100 or so pages would’ve made the book even better.

Characters:

Throughout the book I was contemplating what rating I would give it. While I was enjoying the plot, and  I was very enraptured in it, I had a few issues with Jess.She was very centered around her own problems, and what she wanted, while not really thinking about her best friend Chunk.While I don’t mind people who are like that, I think she needed more of a balance.As the road trip progresses, she realizes that she really doesn’t know much about Chunk, and has never really tried to know. Chunk is a great friend, and has been there for her through absolutely everything, but the relationship isn’t  always reciprocal.  Though at first Jess doesn’t understand that, she does eventually which is why my rating is 4 stars. As long as a character promises to try to fix what’s wrong, I’m willing to ignore their flaws. This is why I would’ve liked a little more pages to really see if Jess will change.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Jess,Chunk and The Road Trip To Infinity By Kristen Elizabeth Clark Book Review

  1. Pingback: Blogging Book Tag – Lost In A Story

  2. Pingback: November Wrap-Up | The Book Thief Without Words

Leave a Reply

