The Education of Margot Sanchez by Liliam Rivera Book Review

img_4188

26594801

Goodreads Summary:THINGS/PEOPLE MARGOT HATES:

Mami, for destroying my social life
Papi, for allowing Junior to become a Neanderthal
Junior, for becoming a Neanderthal
This supermarket
Everyone else

After “borrowing” her father’s credit card to finance a more stylish wardrobe, Margot
Sanchez suddenly finds herself grounded. And by grounded, she means working as an indentured servant in her family’s struggling grocery store to pay off her debts.

With each order of deli meat she slices, Margot can feel her carefully cultivated prep school reputation slipping through her fingers, and she’s willing to do anything to get out of this punishment. Lie, cheat, and maybe even steal…

Margot’s invitation to the ultimate beach party is within reach and she has no intention of letting her family’s drama or Moises—the admittedly good looking but outspoken boy from the neighborhood—keep her from her goal.

My Rating:4/5 stars

Disclaimer: An ARC was provided to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:

Plot

The  Education of Margot Sanchez is about a puerto-rican  girl in the Bronx who has to work at her father’s supermarket for the summer after stealing money from his credit card. Though at first Margot Sanchez is very materialistic and self-centered, as the summer progresses she begins aware of her flaws and tries to fix them.  While this book is more character driven than anything, I did enjoy the way the story unfolded. A lot of really tough things happened to Margot, and it was interesting to see the way she deal with it.I definitely feel as though the book could’ve been better developed especially when it came to the romantic sub-plot. The author didn’t really expand and establish enough of a chemistry for me to care about any of it all. I feel like there could have been more scenes with the  possible romantic interest Moises to really establish more of a chemistry between them.One thing that I did appreciate was that the author kind of left it open to interpretation which was nice.Despite my issues with the plot, I still thought it was really well done and nicely paced

Characters.

One of the problem I had with this book was the fact that Margot Sanchez was pretty unlikeable at first. While she did grow,it was definitely off putting to read a book where the main character was so bratty. I did appreciate the fact that she changed later on in the book because or else this book would’ve been a 2-3 stars.

I feel like a lot of the side of the characters weren’t well developed enough for me to actually have an opinion on them. I really liked Margot’s friend Elizabeth and also Moises but neither had enough page time for me to really develop an opinion on them. This book would have been way better if it had been say 400 pages or somewhere around there. Just a couple more chapters to really create a feel for all of the characters.

So really one of my biggest issues was the fact that it was just too short. I really liked all the aspects of the story but I feel as though I would’ve appreciate it more had it been longer.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Education of Margot Sanchez by Liliam Rivera Book Review

  1. Pingback: December Wrap-up | The Book Thief Without Words

  2. Pingback: December Book Haul | The Book Thief Without Words

Leave a Reply

