December Wrap-up

img_4188-5

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-10-52-34-amscreen-shot-2017-01-01-at-10-52-52-am

Note: From now on in my wrap-up, all the diverse books I read will have an asteriks next to it, along with a specification as to how it’s diverse.

  1. The Trials of Apollo  by Rick Riordan*  Bi Character

My Rating:3/5 stars

Goodreads

What I liked: Seeing Percy again, and Nico and Will, and Apollo was pretty great

What I disliked: It was really boring?? Nothing happened, and the entire time they were like five miles from Camp Half Blood, and just it wasn’t interesting.

2. The Education of Margot Sanchez* Puerto Rican Character

My Rating:4/5 stars

Review

Goodreads

What I liked: It was a really cute quick read with some nice character development

What I disliked:Margot was annoying for like 85% of the book

3.This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers* Depressed Character

My Rating:4/5 stars

Review

Goodreads

What I liked:It was a unique take on the apocalypse with less focus on the zombies and more focused on the people surviving

What I disliked:The unnecessary romance that  added nothing to the plot

4.An Ember in The Ashes *PoC Author and Main character

My Rating:4/5 stars

Goodreads

What I liked:The setting and the fantasy atmosphere. Plus the writing was A+

What I Disliked:Honestly nothing? Like it wasn’t worthy of a five stars, but still it was great and nothing that really bugged me.

5.The Promised World by Lisa Tucker

My Rating:4/5 stars

Goodreads

What I liked: It was one of those books where you didn’t really know what was happening, and that kept you guessing

What I disliked:It was kind of disturbing and unsettling and just one of those books that makes you want to scream in disgust

6.The Other F-Word by Natasha  Friend

My Rating:4/5 stars

Review

Goodreads

What I liked:The unique portrayal of different types of family

What I Disliked:The shortness of it and the lack of development for some of the characters

7.Glory O’Brien’s History of The Future by A.S King

My Rating:4/5 stars

Goodreads

What I liked:The Magical realism:A.S King really is amazing at writing magic realism stories.

What I disliked:The parts about the commune were less than desirable

8.Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

My Rating:4.5/5 Stars

Review

Goodreads

What I liked: The dystopian society that accurately reflects our society.

What I disliked: I had some personal issues with it, that prevented me from liking it as much as I could have.

What Did you read in December?Have You read any of these books?

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “December Wrap-up

  1. I loved the Ember in the Ashes, it was a great book and I agree the writing was fantastic. I also the read the Trials of Apollo and it was lacking something when it came to all the other Riordan books, but it was great nonetheless. Hope you have a great day!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

