#DiversityBingo 2017 TBR

c1uaiwfuuaaddty

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-12-12-56-pm

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-12-19-23-pm

so #diversitybingo2017 is this really cool thing on twitter where you try to fill as many squares as you can to either fill up the entire board or at least a few rows and columns. Since I really want to maximise the amount of diverse books I read in 2017,I’m really excited to participate in this challenge. There are 36 squares, and so far I’ve been able to find 21 books that I either already own or that i can get to the library. But you never know what books will come my way, and this is a really tentative TBR, and any and all recommendations are welcome,preferably adult books that  are a little older! So i’m just going to list the book I have for each category, while also putting the categories for which I have no  book for as of yet.

Categories I have

Practicing Jewish Mc: The Golem and The Jinni by Helene Whicker or The Imposter Bride by Nancy Richler

Indian Mc(Own Voices): The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

Displaced Mc:What is The What by Dave Eggers

NeuroDiverse Mc (own-voices): History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Bisexual Mc(own Voices):Not Otherwise Specified by Hannah Moskowitz

Mc with an Invisible Disability:Challenger Deep by  Neal Shusterman

Mc of Color in SFF:Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older

Latinx Mc(ownvoices): One Hundred Years of Solitude by  Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Free Choice: Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

Non-Western Setting(Real-world) The Golden Son by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Own Voices:Mercy by Toni Morison

Mc With Chronic Pain: Far From You by Tess Sharpe

West Asian Setting: Snow by Orhan Pamuk

Book by Author of Color:The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Biracial Mc(own Voices): The Girl From Everywhere by  Heidi Heilig

Black Mc(own Voices): The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

LGBTQ mc of Color:Everything Leads to You by Nina Lacour

Arranged Marriage(contemporary world):A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseni

Indigineous Mc(own Voices): The Absolutely True Diary of  a Part-time Indian by Sherman Alexi

Poc on The Cover:The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill

Hard of Hearing Mc: Five Flavors of Dumb by Anthony John

Immigrant or Refugee Mc: Accordion Crimes by Annie Proulx.

Categories I don’t have books for

Romance With A trans Mc

Non-Binary MC

Sci Fi with disability:

Mc With an underrepresented body type:

LGBTQ Retelling

Mc with anaphalactic allergy:

Arab Mc (Own Voices):

Mc With Wheel Chair

Pansexual Mc (own voices)

Visually Impaired Mc

 

 

Books set in central america:

Diverse non-fiction

Hijabi mc

So that’s my tbr.

Any Reccommendations are welcome, and if you’d like to read any of these books with me, let me know!

 

One thought on “#DiversityBingo 2017 TBR

  1. I am always thinking about books about diversity because I need to purchase them for the library to be used by English teachers and their classes. If you find any particularly good ones, please let me know. Thanks. (I had a busy week-end so I didn’t get much blogging (none) done.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

