My True Love Gave To Me Edited by Stephanie Perkins Book Review

20309175

Goodreads Summary:

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year’s there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

Overall Rating:3.5/5 Stars

My Thoughts:

I think that we can all agree that for most anthology, it’s usually a toss up. There’s usually stories you love, stories you hate, and stories that just really bore you.So I’m just going to tell you what I rated each individual story and tell you a little bit about what I thought of it.

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell:4/5 stars

This was a pretty cute story about news year and these two best friends and it was good, and there was nothing bad about it, it just wasn’t amazing. I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing, which was why it gave it a four, but it wasn’t as cute as I thought it would be.

The Lady and The Fox by Kelly Link:2.5/5 stars

This made no sense whatsoever, I had no clue what was going and it was just really weird and  boring. I really didn’t like it, but the writing wasn’t horrible so it wasn’t a 1 star for me.

Angels in The Snow by Matt de la Pena:4/5 stars

This one was really good! I really liked both of the characters, and it was really cute and the writing was really good. I really want to check out the author’s other work after reading this.

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han:4/5 stars

This one was really interesting.It ‘s kind of like Elf but contemporary? I know that sounds really weird, but I really liked the unique concept.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins:4.5/5 stars

I love Stephanie Perkins, and her story was A+. It has swoony romance,great characters and amazing writer. She doesn’t disappoint, I just wish it was longer.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan:3/5 stars

This was the only story where the romance wasn’t straight, and it honestly just fell really flat. I really liked the like last two pages, but everything else was really boring and like it wasn’t even focus on their romance which was just really frustrating. I love his writing but his story wasn’t that interesting.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black:2/5 Stars

This was so weird and just really not good at all. What happened at the end was so out of the blue and random and really disturbing and I just hated it. I feel like it could’ve taken another direction and would’ve been a solid 4 but it took a path that made so sense.It was really bad.

What The Hell Have You Done Sophie Roth by Gayle Forman:5/5 stars

I loved this one so much, I loved how the Mc was Jewish and how the love interest was black and it was so cute and adorable and there was a diner and diners make stories 100x better and it was just really great. I love Gayle Forman  and this  story didn’t disappoint.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire:3/5 stars

This one fell pretty flat for me. I liked it but it was just kind of boring and not really interesting. Too Christain for my taste and didn’t really have anything going for it.

 

Welcome To Christmas, Ca by Kiersten White:5/5 stars

This one was really good too! The setting was great, the characters was great and the romance was A+. I loved the Mc’s family and the whole story made me really happy.

Star of Bethelhem by Ally Carter:4.5/5 stars

I think this one is definitely the most unique and intriguing. I really liked the element of surprise and it was also just really adorable. I did find it a tad melodramatic towards end and a little bit rushed but everything else was perfect.

The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor:1/5 stars

I skimmed this one, it was really boring and I just kind of hated it.

Have you read this anthology?What did you think of it?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My True Love Gave To Me Edited by Stephanie Perkins Book Review

  1. Pingback: January Wrap-Up | The Book Thief Without Words

Leave a Reply

