A Guide To Jodi Picoult Books

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-10-23-12-am

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-10-23-21-am

So today I decided a post that’s kind of interesting and that I hope that you’ll all enjoy. Jodi Picoult is my second favorite author right after Markus Zusak, and I’ve read the majority of her work, illustrated in the picture up. She has so many different books that might interest different people so I’d though I’d do a little guide to do them.For each book I’ll tell you the topic they discussed,how much I rated them and whether I liked it or not.Obviously with 19 books there’s bound to be some bad ones.

  1. My Sister’s Keeper

My Rating:4/5 Stars

Topic:Designer Babies

Did I like it: This was the second book I read by her and I love this one. It’s her  most famous book, and while it isn’t the best, it’s still very good. The twist at the end is great.

2. Nineteen Minutes

My Rating:5/5 stars

Topic:School Shooting

Did I like it:This one is so sad and really amazing. It’s a great book about school shootings and it’s one of those books that make you feel numb

3. The Pact

Topic:Suicide Pact

My Rating:4/5 Stars

Did I like it: This is probably one of the saddest of her books,and there’s part that when I think of it, I always feel really sad. It’s really raw and emotional.

4.Plain Truth

Topic:Amish People

My Rating:4/5 Stars

Did I like it:This one was really interesting and kind of offered insight into that community without having to read Christain Amish fiction. It’s really interesting and eye-opening and I really enjoyed it.

5.House Rules

Topic:Aspergers Syndrome

My Rating:4/5 stars

Did I like It:This is such a great book about a teenage boy with aspergers who’s accused of a crime he didn’t commit. His lack of social skills makes him more suspect as he tries to manage his way through the justice system. It’s really interesting to see how the justice system isn’t that just, and this book is a must read.

6.The Tenth Circle

Topic:Rape

My Rating:3/5 Stars

Did I like it: It’s one of those books that I don’t really remember but what I remember isn’t that great. I just remember it being really confusing and kind of boring. It might be for you but it wasn’t for me.

7.Change of Heart

Topic: Death Penalty

My Rating:4/5 Stars

Did I like It: This is another of her sadder book. It’s kind of weird, and odd but I still really enjoy it.The ending is probably one of her saddest, and I’m still not over it.It’s a really tough read but it’s  good.

8. Handle With Care

Topic:osteogenesis imperfecta,

My Rating:5/5 stars

Did I like it: Picoult just has a habit of hitting people with the feels. Yet another sad one and yet another one where the ending is just too tragic to bear. Her books have a formula, but it’s a good one.

9.Vanishing Acts

Topic:Kidnapping

My Rating:4/5 stars

Did I like it: This one was kind of meh, it wasn’t bad, there wasn’t anything wrong with it but it just didn’t blow me away.It’s enjoyable but also kind of forgettable.

10.Keeping Faith

Topic:A girl who sees god

Rating:2/5 stars

Did I like it: This is one of my least faves by her, it’s really boring and stupid and I kind of just really wished it didn’t exist.It’s just bad.

11.Sing You Home

Topic:The Right the One’s Embryo’s

Rating:5/5 stars

Did I like it:This is a really great one, and I just really love it and it’s probably one of my faves by her. It’s one of the only books I’ve ever read with a lesbian character in an adult book. It’s great. Plus it’s also about music which is always fun.

12.Perfect Match

Topic:sexual abuse

Rating:4/5 stars

Did I like it: This is another meh ones.. The ending was really weird, and everything in the middle just made me me really uncomfortable. I kind of hate reading about abuse.

13.Salem Falls

Topic: I think it’s about sexual abuse too but I’m not sure?

My Rating:4/5 stars

Did I like it:Objectively looking back on it, I’m not exactly sure why this one is a 4 stars. I can’t remember anything good about it, and I just remember being real weirded out. I think I like the characters though so that may be why I gave it the high rating.

14.Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult

Topic:The decision to cut life support

My Rating:3/5 stars

Did I like it: I liked all the parts that was classic picoult but then there was a lot of boring stuff about wolves which was just really not interesting.

15.The Storyteller

Topic:  A 90 year old Nazi who asks a woman to kill him

My Rating:5/5 stars

Did i like it: This is my fave book by her, I love it so much. It’s so complex and amazing, and just great. There’s just something about it that stands out of her other books and it’s just really great.

16.Mercy

Topic:Euthenasia

My Rating:3/5 stars

Did I like it: It was okay, I don’t really remember much about it like at all so I guess it wasn’t that good. It’s not especially memorable.

17.Harvesting The Heart

Topic:A Mother leaving her child

My Rating:4/5 stars

Did I like it: This wasn’t a classic Picoult with the court case and the big plottwist but it was still pretty good. She’s an excellent writer, so she always has that going for her.

18.Leaving Time

Topic:A Girl looking for a mother

My Rating:5/5 Stars

Did I like It:This is probably the most out of Picoult’s comfort zone but it’s really really good. The plot twist at the end had me reeling and was probably on of her bests.It’s been two years since I read it and I’m still not over it.

19.Small Great Things

Topic:Racial Injustice

My Rating:5/5 Stars

Did I like it:I really loved the book, I think it’s an important read and a poignant one but looking back there’s a part of me that’s beginning to feel uncertain about it. Yes the story was amazing, the characters were great and the discussion was on point, but I don’t know if she had the right to tell that story and I don’t really think I can decide that for myself. I love this book but the more I think about it, the more I’m unsure.

Have You read any of Picoult’s books? What did you think of them?

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Guide To Jodi Picoult Books

  1. This is a great post Hannah! I still haven’t read any Picoult books, but I ordered Small Great Things and I’m pretty excited! I’ll definitely come back here when I want to choose a new book to read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heyy Hannah,

    I’m an ardent Picoult fan too. I currently have six of her books and I hope to collect every one.

    I’ve read Salem Falls and I really liked it. Jack St. Bride has to be one of my favourite male characters of all time.

    Change of Heart is my favourite one. It talked about capital punishment, forgiveness and Gnostic Christianity and I think people should read it more.

    The Tenth Circle was just there for me. I liked the way it showed that we don’t really know our children and what they’re capable of.

    Nineteen Minutes is my second favourite. It was a very indepth read about the effects of prolonged internalizing of bullying and I really liked it. Peter was a character I liked, despite his flaws.

    My Sister’s Keeper was one hell of a roll. I was so shocked by it and how it ended. I may pick it up again soon or recommend it to a friend.

    I’m currently reading Handle With Care but I’ve abandoned it a little. So far, it’s pretty good.

    I’m looking forward to reading Small Great Things, Plain Truth, The Pact and Keeping Faith.

    Great post! 💕

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting! Yeah I agree, Change of Heart was a really great read and I think that it’s such an important read about the death penalty.I always forget about Nineteen Minutes when I think about Picoult’s books but it’s so great and an insightful look into school shootings. I hope you enjoy Handle with care and any other of her books that you decide to pick it up!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

