The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson Book Review

17838528

Goodreads Summary:

Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

My Rating:5/5 stars

Plot:

So the plot portion of this review will be rather short seeing as this book was very character driven which is my favorite type of book. The Unexpected Everything follows Andie, the daughter of a politician. It’s summer and she has plans to do this very important internship  but a scandal involving her father comes to light and she must put these plans to a halt. Instead she takes a job walking dogs and of course there’s a boy and it’s just really cute. It’s typical Morgan Matson, with the perfect mix of serious and fluffiness and  everything I love about Matson is in this book.

Characters:

Matson has such a way with characters. She’s able to make so many likeable and fun characters and is able to craft a chemistry that is 100% believable. I basically loved all the characters, they were all great and quirky and just really awesome. I love the love interest, Clark he was such a nerd and just really great. And then there were all of Andie’s friends who were just really awesome and I loved their friendship. There was so many great relationships both romantic and platonic and it was just so great. Another thing I loved was the development of the relationship between Andie and her Dad. It really grew and morphed into something great and wonderful.I can’t really put it into words but the characters were just too good. My only complaint was that it was little white and straight. It’s something I’ve begun to notice more and more and it’s being to irk me even more. I’m not going to take stars off but it was something that made me stop and just be “like  where’s the diversity?” Other than that, I had no real complaints.

Have You read this book? What did you think? Have you read her other books?

 

8 thoughts on “The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson Book Review

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter Tag! #booktag – Maya Hearts Books

  2. Pingback: The Liebster Award! – Maya Hearts Books

  3. This was such a great review! I’ve read all four of her books and loved each one in a slightly different way. I love the Unexpected Everything because all the connections between the characters seemed real and genuine, even though they were all slightly different. I love watching Andie grow and I think I could relate to her the most out of all of Matson’s heroines. She is just an amazing writer and one of the leaders of the Young Adult Contemporary Fiction field, I believe.

    Like

    • Yeah that was definitely the best part about the book, I also really appreciated the fact that at the end the two friends(i can’t remember their names) grew apart which isn’t something you usually see and I liked how they realized that they were too dependent on one another

      Like

  4. Pingback: January Wrap-Up | The Book Thief Without Words

Leave a Reply

