A Couple of Books I Really Don’t Like

So for the past couple of weeks,I’ve been having a lot of trouble getting into the books I was reading, which is why I haven’t really posted  anything.So today I decided to write a post talking about some books which I really don’t like. Because while it’s fun to write about books you do like, it’s even funner to write about books you don’t.

1.Thirteen Reasons Why by  Jay Asher

This book is just so overrated and problematic and just a horrible portrayal of  depression.The problem with Asher’s book is that they’re so easy to read so you fly through it but at the end you’re just like why did I read this? The reasons why Hanna Baker  killed herself are so clear and pinpointed which is such an unrealistic portrayal of life.It’s never that easy to pinpoint. Honestly this book is so frustrating and I hate that this is so popular.

2.Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

This is another book where the portrayal of mental of illness is so bad. The girl is schizophrenia but it’s such a stereotypical portrayal of the illness and you can really tell that there wasn’t that much research put into it.plus it was super confusing and made no sense. I wrote a review of this on tumblr if you’re interested.

3.Going Bovine by Libba Bray

I love Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle Trilogy and I love The Diviners, but this book was so weird and I don’t even know how to describe it. I honestly felt like I was reading something that someone wrote while high because it just was that weird. While there was some redeeming aspects, the majority of the book was just plain bad and weird. This book really wasn’t for me.

4.The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melissa Salisbury.

I honestly forgot about this book but I was looking through my books to see what books I didn’t like  and I saw this. From what I remember this book was not executed well at all and was one of those cases where it could have been really good but it wasn’t. Also there was a really horrible love triangle so yeah.

 

5.I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson.

This book was such a disappointment. The Sky is Everywhere is an amazing book but this was so not good. It was trying so hard to be lyrical and deep and it just wasn’t. I think this book was definitely a case of “it’s not you, it’s me.”  but I was still very disappointed and very underwhelmed.

What are some books you really don’t like?

10 thoughts on “A Couple of Books I Really Don’t Like

  1. The Diet Starts on Monday. Ohhhh myyyy gooood, I hated this book. The main character I wanted to STRANGLE, and she constantly slut shamed and joked about how the main ‘mean girl’ would probably (quoted directly from the book) ‘have her head down the toilet spewing her guts up, before going on a runway.’ NO NO NO DONT YOU DARE USE BULIMIA IN SUCH A FLIPPANT WAY. Also Did I Mention I Love You? MC has an eating disorder that is never addressed, and it’s complete romanticization of abusive relationships makes me sick.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to know I’m not the only one who thinks that 13 Reasons Why is overrated haha I read it because one of my closest friends recommended it to me, and while I think it was an okay read (I think I gave it 3 stars, i’m not sure) because it was so easy to read, as you said, and the plot and the tapes were an interesting concept, I couldn’t understand some of Hannah’s reasons. :/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

