March Wrap-up

img_4188-5

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 8.33.09 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-01 at 8.33.14 PM

Note:All diverse books are marked with an asteriks

1.Meg and Linus*Gay and Lesbian characters

Goodreads

Review

My Rating:5/5 stars

What I liked:This was honestly just a really cute book about two friends who were both gay and just their high school life. It was adorable and I loved every minute of it

What I disliked:Honestly nothing, it was great.

2.Get it Together Delilah by Erin Gough*Lesbian Mc

Goodreads

Review

My Rating:3.5/5 stars

What I liked:It was an interesting read with lots of potential and  was a quick fluffy contemporary

What I disliked:The story was really underdeveloped and just everything needed a lot of work. I liked the idea of it but it was really badly executed

3.The September of Shiraz by Dalia Sofer*Set in Iran and Mcs are Jewish

Goodreads

My Rating:4/5

What I liked: It was an interesting read about the aftermath of the iranian revolution and I learnt a lot of things and I’m always up for a non-western setting. Plus I love when there’s Jewish characters

What I disliked:I felt as though there wasn’t a point to the the whole book. While I did enjoy it, I felt it lacked purpose and some of the Povs were uneeded.

4.Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee* Chinese American and African American Mcs

Goodreads

Review

My Rating:4/5 stars

What I liked: It was a great historical fiction novel with diverse and amazing characters.

What I disliked:Not a huge fan of the whole girls dressing up as guys so that threw me off at first but I actually really ended up liking the trope in the end!

5.The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Helig* biracial and Persian Mcs

Goodreads

Review

My Rating:4.5/5 stars

What I liked: The awesome time travel concept paired with a great cast of characters and excellent writing

What I disliked:  I really would’ve liked it if the author talked more about the treatment of natives because it was barely addressed and it’s something that I feel should’ve been talked about more.

6. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy*Set in India

Goodreads

My Rating:2.5/5 stars

What I liked:I liked the mystery behind it and was intrigued enough to continue on.

What I disliked:While it wasn’t horrible, it wasn’t great either. It was really boring and the writing style was weird and just the entire plot was weird. And while I did like the mystery I also found it to be a little bit of a let down tho. I guess literary fiction just isn’t my thing.It took me a long time to read it which is why I didn’t read as much as I would have liked to

7.Brick Lane by Monica Ali*Characters are bangladeshi

Goodreads

My Rating:3/5

What I liked:I liked seeing the perspective of a muslim woman moving to england and adapting. I also liked the commentary of Islamaphobia and how muslims were affected after 9/11

What I disliked: It was kind of a slow book and I wasn’t a fan of the romance or the other perspective which was told in letter format. Also the husband was hella annoying and I just wanted him to stop talking.

So that’s my march wrap-up!What books did you read in March?

 

 

Leave a Reply

