The Representation That Would Mean the Most To Me

img_4188

While obviously all representation is important, there are three specific things that are part of my identity and are really important to me and things I would like to read more about.

1.Jewish Characters.

I am half-jewish on my dad’s side so technically religious Jews wouldn’t call me Jewish but I still identify with this part of myself very much. I’m not religious at all, but I still identify with the culture a lot.Being Jewish or Muslim is very different from being Christain(at least that’s how I see it),if you don’t believe in god then you’re not christain but I’m not religious but I’m still Jewish. I’d love to see this aspect of Judaism explored and see characters who are like or just characters who have the Jewish faith. I know there are some out there but I’d really love to see characters my age.I don’t know,I’m thinking of making one of my characters in my next novel half-jewish but I’m still not 100% sure.

2.Characters with Social Anxiety.

I have hella bad anxiety and I know that there are books out there with characters that have anxiety but I’ve honestly not read very many of them. Also I’m not exactly sure if those books contain character with SOCIAL anxiety versus anxiety since  they can be mutually inclusive. Honestly I just feel really irrational a lot of the time, and I’d really like to see characters like me

3.Queer Aces

I identify as biromantic ace(idk this could change but that’s what I’m going with currently) and it’s not something that I talk about ever but I’d love to  see  more storylines containing ace characters which is why I wrote my Mc as having the same identity as myself.I think it’s really important to have such characters,to show that they can fall in love too.

What is the representation that means the most to you?

12 thoughts on “The Representation That Would Mean the Most To Me

  1. I’ve been meaning to wrie a post similar to this one in such a long time.

    A multiracial character that also has asthma and_or eczema would be amazing representation. Bonus points if this is in a fantasy novel. Seriously, if there is any character with eczema in a fantasy novel, I’d read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d really like to see more of Nigerian or African characters and not just African American ones.

    Also, I haven’t read a book about a schizoid person and I really would love that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this post. Becky Abertali’s book “The Upside of Unrequited Love” is owns voices for a jewish MC. But I don’t know if she is practicing. just fyi.

    I’d love to see more overweight Heroines that are confident in who they are. And some more bipolar ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally agree with how more characters with social anxiety should be represented in YA. I’m yet to find a book that represents it as anxiety. Most of it’s just shyness or introvertedness but I have social anxiety and I cannot relate at all with those reps.
    I would also love to see ‘oriental’ female protagonists. Great post! 🙂 x

    Like

  5. I have social anxiety as well (along with general anxiety) so I’d also enjoy more socially anxious characters. I also love bisexual female characters in ff relationships because I’m a bisexual woman with a preference for women so it makes me happy to see bisexual women being happy with other women. Especially since there’s this biphobic/homophobic idea that bi women will always end up with men. Not that there’s anything wrong with bi women who end up with men but I don’t like the idea that that’s the only possible ending for bi women. Because realistically it isn’t. And as a bi woman who prefers women and nonbinary people, it seems like an unlikely ending for me personally. Also more representation of mentally ill people who aren’t magically cured by love would be nice 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: Mirror Books  | The Book Thief Without Words

Leave a Reply

