When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon Book Review

img_4188

28458598.jpg

Goodreads Summary:Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

My Rating:5/5 stars

Plot:

If you’re looking for a an amazing summer contemporary, look no further. Go out on May 30th and purchase this wonderfully awesome book and fall in love with Dimple and Rishi’s love.

The minute I heard about this book and saw this cover I knew that I would  love it and I wasn’t  disappointed. When Dimple Met Rishi follows two Indian American teenagers who go to the same summer program right before they are to enter college. Unbeknownst to Dimple, they are arranged to be married later on and their parents decide to get things between them starting.

I honestly wasn’t sure how the story would play out but I really enjoyed the way it did. I loved the exploration of Indian culture, the insanely cute moments between Dimple and Rishi,and all the scenes about web developing. I loved that that was Dimple’s interest as it’s something I’ve never seen in a book before and it made the story a 100x times more enjoyable. I also really loved how the whole arranged marriage was never seen as horrible and  “forced” as a lot of books do but how the author just took this concept and made the cutest spin on it possible.

Characters

As with most contemporaries, this is a very character driven story with really fleshed out characters. While of course Dimple and Rishi were my favorite since they were the ones whose perspective we saw, I loved all the other characters that we got to see, and I loved how fleshed out they were. I loved Rishi’s brother,and Dimple’s brother and just everyone in the book. Obviously there were some shitty people but everything else was great.

I really loved seeing Rishi struggling between what he wanted and what his father wanted and while it’s a plot point that you see a lot in the media, I found it to be more pertinent  coming from an Indian perspective. I also really loved seeing the way Dimple and Rishi reacted to their culture and the way they felt amongst their people.

I really loved the humor that both Dimple and Rishi had which made the book so much more fun. There were a bunch of times where I genuinely laughed out loud and I think it really created  a great chemistry between them.

I know I already mentioned this but I absolutely loved the cute moments between them and some of them just made me squeal from happiness and I just loved everything about them. I especially loved the bookstore bar scene, and I loved how A Wrinkle In Time was incorporated. When Dimple Met Rishi would be the cutest movie and I really hope it get turns it one.

3 thoughts on “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon Book Review

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up | The Book Thief Without Words

Leave a Reply

