May Wrap-Up

img_4188-5

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 1.01.24 PM

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 1.03.56 PM

 

Note:All Diverse Books are marked with an asteriks

1.Fall On Your Knees by Anne-Marie Macdonald

Goodreads

My Rating:3/5 stars

What I liked: How everything was revealed and the alternating between past and present

What I disliked: The ending was fucking weird and disgusting and just gross.

2. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon* Indian Mc and writer

Goodreads

Review

My Rating:5/5 stars

What I liked:The adorable rom-com feel to it and all the amazing characters

What I disliked: Honestly nothing but of course there was the classic cringe/second-hand embarrassment moments

3. The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket and 4. The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket

Goodreads

Goodreads

My Rating:4/5 stars

What I liked: The dark humor  and the resourcefulness of the child

What I disliked: The repetivedeness of it all and how the unwilling the adults were to listen.

5.The Duke of Bannerman Prep by Katie A. Nelson

Goodreads:

Review

My Rating:4/5 stars

What I liked:The boarding school setting,the backdrop of debate and the mystery

What I disliked:The autism rep was kind of iffy

6.The Leavers by Lisa Ko* Chinese Mc and writer

Goodreads

Review

My Rating:4/5 stars

What I liked: The subjects that were addressed and the characters.

What I disliked:The writing was stilted at times

7.Noble Genes by Rune Michaels*Mc’s mom has deppression and bipolar disorder

Goodreads

My Rating:3/5 stars

What I liked: The seriousness of the subjects discussed and the portrayal of mental illness

What I disliked: The ending. This is the second book I read this month with an ending like that and it’s just so fucked up. I hate it.

What Did you Read This month?

Leave a Reply

