What I Lost by Alexandra Ballard Book Review

31145120

Goodreads Summary:What sixteen-year-old Elizabeth has lost so far: forty pounds, four jean sizes, a boyfriend, and her peace of mind. As a result, she’s finally a size zero. She’s also the newest resident at Wallingfield, a treatment center for girls like her—girls with eating disorders. Elizabeth is determined to endure the program so she can go back home, where she plans to start restricting her food intake again.She’s pretty sure her mom, who has her own size-zero obsession, needs treatment as much as she does. Maybe even more. Then Elizabeth begins receiving mysterious packages. Are they from her ex-boyfriend, a secret admirer, or someone playing a cruel trick?

My Rating:4/5 stars

Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

 

Plot:

Books like these are never easy to read but they are so important and instrumental to this generation. If you are able to read books like these without triggering yourself then I highly recommend that you do because I think they shed some light on a subject that is very oftentimes tabooed. Other than Wintergirls, I really can’t think of another book dealing with eating disorders that I’ve read so I’m really glad that I picked this up because it was really good.

What I Lost explores really well the process of getting better in situations like this , and shows that recovery is a huge process that doesn’t happen overnight or once you leave a treatment facility. We also how family really shapes things like this and I liked how we saw Alexandra’s mom’s struggle with eating and showed your behaviors really  influence your children.

A part of the story I really wasn’t that big of a fan was the whole mystery behind the packages.It just felt kind of out of place and while I did like the way it did turn out and I really appreciated the choice Alexandra had made, I still feel as though it didn’t have to be a part of the story.

Characters

Like any contemporary, the characters were definitely the best part of this story. Every  single character that we encountered was really well developed and we really got a backstory for all of them. I loved seeing the girls that Alexandra that she met in the treatment center and how they helped her.

As I said before I really liked seeing the mother storyline and I thought her character was really interesting and there was some really good character development. I think I would’ve liked just a little bit of Alexandra’s  dad but I did like what I saw.

The one character that really really needed development was the secret admirer. I just felt like we barely knew anything about him  and I would’ve liked to understand him a little bit better but I did like him.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

