Follow Me Back by A.V Geiger Book Review

32470611

Goodreads Summary:Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Disclaimer:I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

My Rating:4/5 stars

Plot:

Before I start talking about the actual book, I just wanted to say one thing. I really don’t like Wattpad.While I do appreciate what it has done for young readers and I do know that a lot of people wouldn’t read anything if they didn’t read stuff on Wattpad but I think it definitely lowers the standards of writing.This is just my personal opinion and while I may sound elitist, it’s what I believe. That being said, I did appreciate Follow Me Back despite te fact that it was originally a Wattpad sensation.

Follow me Back is filled with tropes galore as we follow mega-fan Tessa as she copes with her Agoraphobia. Her only gateway to the outside world is through twitter as she posts about Pop sensation Eric Thorn. The story is told in alternating chapters as Tessa engages in a online friendship with an Eric Thorn hate account, not knowing the actual identity behind the account..

Despite the fact that Follow Me Back was filled with cliche after cliche, I found myself enjoying it quite a bit. Obviously it wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read but it was really fun. I loved the format of the book and how it was told in police transcripts, Dms and tweets and not just typical prose. I also enjoyed how we saw just how scary fans can be and the shit stars can deal with it.  Books that deal with fame is one trope that I can get behind.

While I did enjoy it I did find that it was falsely advertised as a thriller when that really wasn’t the main focus of the novel. That was mostly towards the end and the rest of the book really focused on Tess and Eric. I kind of wish there would have been a lit bit more thriller aspect to it because I wasn’t completely satisfied with what I got. I am curious how there’s going to be a sequel because I don’t know what else could happen.

Characters

Follow Me  Back is one of those books that you really need to like the main characters as they’re basically the only characters that you get to really know. To be honest I wasn’t the hugest fan of either of them and felt their romance was kind of weird and just way too quick and rushed. It didn’t really matter for me though as I was just in a certain mood where I just wanted something super light with not much development so I got what I wanted. I would’ve liked to see a little more of Eric’s and Tess’ personalities.

One thing that  really had me upset was the portrayal of Agoraphobia. Basically the entire time we know that Tess went through something traumatizing and then towards the end this traumatizing event is kind of resolved so she basically says that  that her agoraphobia is gone because it’s no longer a threat. With things like those, while a certain event may be the spark that triggers the illness, such trauma doesn’t just go away because it’s resolved. You can’t just get better magically after months of staying inside with horrible  anxiety. It’s  a gradual process that takes lots of time and I think that they should’ve portrayed it as such instead of just making her mental illness miraculously  disappear. It seemed as though she needed the illness for a plot point and once it was no longer important decided to cure Tess. Really wasn’t a fan of that.

Leave a Reply

